DDO World Character Transfer FAQs
How much is a World Character Transfer?
A DDO World Character Transfer is $24.95 €21.95 £18.95, 2995 Turbine Points (TP).
Can I use PayPal for a Paid Service?
NOTE: A World Character Transfer will result in the loss of any items left in your Reincarnation Cache!
What is a Character Transfer?
A Character Transfer is when Turbine moves or relocates a character from one world (server/shard) to another. For example, if your character currently resides on Argonnessen and you would like to play with your friends on Khyber, we would perform a Character Transfer from Argonnessen to Khyber.
What should I expect from the Character Transfer Process?
World Character transfers may be requested from the support website. This form has an option at the bottom of the page to pay with Turbine Points or a credit card. The form still requests card information for verification purposes if one is on file. If you do not have a credit card on file, simply enter “none” for the card holder name, and “0000” for the last 4 digits of the card.
Please note that in the course of a World Character Transfer we will lock your subscription out of the game for about 5 minutes while we process the Character Transfer. This process will boot any characters that are logged in when we lock the subscription. You may receive a notice in game that your account has been suspended. Shortly afterward you should receive your email notification that your character has been transferred.
The Character Transfer process WILL transfer your character with all of their experience, items, and quest progression intact. Your friends/ignore lists, guild list/association, True Reincarnation cache, auction house, and in-game mail WILL NOT be transferred. Your character's Favor will be transferred. NOTE: Faction specific favor rewards will transfer; however, total favor rewards from Nyx WILL NOT be transferred to the new server. This includes Drow, both levels of Veteran Status, 32-Point builds, and Favored Soul. Please note that Vanity Pets are server-specific and will not be transferred along with your character.
Please be sure to take your items out of Shared Storage before transferring your character, as items left in Shared Storage will remain on the original server.
You'll receive an email confirmation once you've submitted the request. You will not be charged until the transfer is successfully processed.
How long will it take to process this service?
All Paid Service requests are processed in the order they are received. Turnaround can vary greatly, depending on the size of the queue.
What is the Character Transfer Policy?
Characters can be transferred if:
In addition to Turbine’s Terms of Service, the following terms and conditions will apply to all fee based game services described on this website (the “Premium Services”). In the event of a conflict between Turbine’s Terms of Service and these terms and conditions, these terms and conditions will apply. Turbine reserves the right to modify and update these terms and conditions at any time with or without notification.
Do I get to bring my items to the new server?
Yes, all equipped, inventory, and bank items will be ported to the new server. Please be aware that any items in Shared Storage will remain on the original server. In addition, any items bound to the character still in shared storage will be lost when the character is transferred.” Please note that Vanity Pets are server-specific and will not be transferred to the new server.
Do I need to be logged into the game to get transferred to the new server?
No. You do not need to be logged into the game to get transferred to the new server. Please feel free to play any character on your account while you wait for any transfers to be completed. However, we do recommend that you avoid playing the character to be transferred as much as possible while waiting for the transfer, as the character to be transferred must be offline in order to be transferred. You will receive an email from Turbine Customer Service once the server transfer is complete.
Will all characters on my account be transferred to the new server, or just one?
One character = One fee. If you choose to do so, you may transfer additional characters for an additional fee for each character.
Does transferring a character affect my VIP status?
Transferring a character does not affect anything on your account other than the character being transferred.
What if someone else already has my name on the destination server?
If your character name is already in use on the destination server you will be automatically be assigned a free rename credit. The rename credit will allow you to type /changename newname (replacing "newname" with the name you would like your character to have) in the chat window command line. Please note that a character's surname (last name) cannot be changed with a rename credit.
Please note: You will only have access to use the /changename command until a valid new name is obtained successfully. Please use the /changename command wisely as this credit has a one-time use. If you make a typo or choose a name you are not satisfied with we will be unable to credit a refund.
NOTE: If your character has been assigned a rename credit, the credit must be used within 30 days of the character being transferred.
What happens if the character with the same name belongs to the player doing the transfer? Does the character get transferred with an automatic rename, OR, does the transferred character replace the existing character?
The character that is on the server first always gets to keep the name. The character being moved onto the server always gets the name change. We won't delete one of the characters, and we don't check to see what account the current character is associated with.
As the possibility that a rename is required is built into the transfer process, there is no penalty for forcing this by creating a character to hold the name and force the change.
So, feel free to create characters on your destination server with the current names of the characters you want to move and rename.
“The recipient of this letter does not exist."
If you are receiving this message, please make sure that you are typing the mail recipient’s name correctly (including a -1 at the end of the character’s name if applicable.
I have VIP status. Do I have to pay for a world character transfer?
A world character transfer costs $24.95 or €21.95 or £18.95 or 2995 TP, regardless of your account's status (Free, Premium, VIP).
Can I transfer a character from one account to another?
It is not possible to transfer any character from one account to another. This is a service which we hope to offer in the future.
Can I transfer a character from one subscription to another?
It is not possible to transfer a character from one subscription to another.
How do I purchase a Character Transfer?
A Character Transfer can be purchased by filling out a request form here.
How do I buy a Paid Service for a friend?
If you plan on gifting a Paid Service, please do NOT add your card to your friend's account. This cannot be stressed enough. Doing so can often lead to confusion and/or problems. Your card will now be on your friend's account for future use, unless your friend adds a new card. This means, by definition, that you own the account (with your card on file) and you have to call for any account issues. This also means that subscription fees and Paid Services can be charged to your card while it is on file. Unfortunately, we've seen this lead to unpleasant situations (even between friends) in some cases.
We recommend purchasing Turbine Points and then emailing the code to your friend. Your friend can then use the Turbine Points to make the purchase.
Purchase Turbine Points here.
We’d love your feedback and comments on this article! Please rate the article below and then add a comment!